Volunteer Week: Curatorial Volunteer Muriel

Here at the BPMA we are lucky to have some wonderful volunteers who provide invaluable assistance to us, helping catalogue items, assisting with conservation projects and preparing collections for the move to The Postal Museum. One of our Curatorial Volunteers, Muriel Bailly, gives you a sneak peak at what it’s like to volunteer at the BPMA.

While packing uniforms today I found a 1988 5p coin in a pocket!

While packing uniforms today I found a 1988 5p coin in a pocket!

Since September 2014 I have been volunteering at the BPMA, assisting Curators Emma Harper and Joanna Espin packing, auditing, recording and labeling the collection, ahead of the museum’s move in 2016.

Over the past months I have had the chance to gain hands on experience working with a wide variety of unique objects including prints, uniforms and evidence from the 1963 Great Train Robbery.

Pink ribbon= objects audited and freshly packed = Productive day

Pink ribbon= objects audited and freshly packed = Productive day

By working with such a varied collection, I have become familiar with conservation issues and procedures for different materials and have gained experience in object handling which will be crucial for my career development.

I work with all sorts of objects like these handstamps which I need to repack.

I work with all sorts of objects like these handstamps which I need to repack.

I am currently working full-time as a Visitor Experience Assistant at Wellcome Collection and hope to pursue a career in curating. The Curatorial Volunteer opportunity at the BPMA was a rare opportunity to gain hands-on, practical experience of collection management in a very competitive sector.

I also help clean objects - have you ever seen the top of a telephone kiosk?

I also help clean objects – have you ever seen the top of a telephone kiosk?

Volunteering has already helped me gain more responsibilities in my job where I was recently given responsibility for the handling collection and I am confident it will lead to future career development.

If this has piqued your interest then visit the volunteering page of our website to see a list of our current volunteer vacancies.

Leave a Reply

